Coverart for item
The Resource The prey of gods, Nicky Drayden

The prey of gods, Nicky Drayden

Label
The prey of gods
Title
The prey of gods
Statement of responsibility
Nicky Drayden
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor. In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes--the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .An emerging AI uprising . . .And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.It's up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there's a future left to worry about.Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart . . . even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Drayden, Nicky
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3604.R935
LC item number
P74 2017
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Prentice Onayemi
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Onayemi, Prentice
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Personal robotics
  • Personal robotics
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The prey of gods, Nicky Drayden
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (12 hr., 31 min., 57 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062850270
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
8bc8b45c-5883-46d4-aa3e-42421e4a07e0
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1015336191
  • (OCoLC)on1015336191
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The prey of gods, Nicky Drayden
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (12 hr., 31 min., 57 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062850270
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
8bc8b45c-5883-46d4-aa3e-42421e4a07e0
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1015336191
  • (OCoLC)on1015336191
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Manchester City LibraryBorrow it
      405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
      42.992271 -71.458785

Library Links