Coverart for item
The Resource Shuttle, Houston : my life in the center seat of Mission Control, Paul Dye

Shuttle, Houston : my life in the center seat of Mission Control, Paul Dye

Label
Shuttle, Houston : my life in the center seat of Mission Control
Title
Shuttle, Houston
Title remainder
my life in the center seat of Mission Control
Statement of responsibility
Paul Dye
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the tradition of Chris Kraft's Flight and Gene Kranz's Failure Is Not an Option, from the longest-serving Flight Director in NASA's history, a revealing look at the high-stakes work of Mission Control that tells the inside story of the Space Shuttle program that has redefined our relationship with space"--
  • Dye, NASA's longest-serving Flight Director, examines the split-second decisions that the directors and astronauts were forced to make in a field where mistakes are unthinkable, and where errors led to the loss of national resources-- and more importantly, one's crew. From the powerful fiery ascent to the majesty of on-orbit operations to the high-speed and critical re-entry and landing of a hundred-ton glider, he provides a compelling look inside the Space Shuttle missions and explores the determined personalities, technological miracles, and eleventh-hour saves that have given us human spaceflight. -- adapted from jacket
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
LBSOR/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dye, Paul
Dewey number
  • 629.4092
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
TL789.85.D88
LC item number
A3 2020
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Dye, Paul
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center
  • United States
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center
  • United States
  • Space Shuttle Program (U.S.)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center
  • Space Shuttle Program (U.S.)
  • United States
  • Aerospace engineers
  • Astronautics
  • Aerospace engineers
  • Astronautics
  • Employees
  • United States
Label
Shuttle, Houston : my life in the center seat of Mission Control, Paul Dye
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Prelude: The last time -- The most complex flying machine ever built -- Spaceflight 101 -- Being a flight controller -- Getting selected-the chosen few -- Becoming flight -- Plan, train, fly -- Shuttle Mir -- SRTM and the mast -- Life in Mission Control -- Return to flight -- Thirty-year learning curve -- Leadership in a high-risk business
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 302 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780316454575
Lccn
2019052492
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1127549424
  • (OCoLC)on1127549424
Label
Shuttle, Houston : my life in the center seat of Mission Control, Paul Dye
Publication
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Prelude: The last time -- The most complex flying machine ever built -- Spaceflight 101 -- Being a flight controller -- Getting selected-the chosen few -- Becoming flight -- Plan, train, fly -- Shuttle Mir -- SRTM and the mast -- Life in Mission Control -- Return to flight -- Thirty-year learning curve -- Leadership in a high-risk business
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 302 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9780316454575
Lccn
2019052492
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1127549424
  • (OCoLC)on1127549424

Library Locations

    • Manchester City LibraryBorrow it
      405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
      42.992271 -71.458785

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...