Coverart for item
The Resource Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner, (electronic resource)

Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner, (electronic resource)

Label
Missing, presumed : a novel
Title
Missing, presumed
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Susie Steiner
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case. "A new and complex police heroine . . . a highly charismatic and engaging story."-- Kirkus Reviews (starred review). "This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French."-- Booklist. "An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George."--Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer. At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep--and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Edith Hind--a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family--has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big--and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive. The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith's family but for Manon herself. Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1971-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Steiner, Susie
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • McMahon, Juanita
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women detectives
  • Missing persons
  • Women college students
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780451483331
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d37bac4d-4c65-46da-b8f6-4e3625df594c
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
System control number
  • (OCoLC)952503030
  • (OCoLC)ocn952503030
  • 1262438
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Missing, presumed : a novel, Susie Steiner, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780451483331
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d37bac4d-4c65-46da-b8f6-4e3625df594c
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
System control number
  • (OCoLC)952503030
  • (OCoLC)ocn952503030
  • 1262438
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Main BranchBorrow it
      405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
      42.992271 -71.458785

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...