Coverart for item
The Resource Furia, Yamile Saied Méndez

Furia, Yamile Saied Méndez

Label
Furia
Title
Furia
Statement of responsibility
Yamile Saied Méndez
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line--even her blooming love story--to follow her dreams. In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother's narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother's shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she'd get an athletic scholarship to a North American university. But the path ahead isn't easy. Her parents don't know about her passion. They wouldn't allow a girl to play fútbol--and she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn't have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren't the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her. Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl's journey to make her life her own
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Méndez, Yamile Saied
Dewey number
[Fic]
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PZ7.1.M4713
LC item number
Fur 2020ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Sol Madariaga
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1995-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Madariaga, Sol
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Soccer players
  • Dating (Social customs)
  • Sexism
  • Families
  • Dating (Social customs)
  • Families
  • Sexism
  • Soccer players
  • Argentina
  • Argentina
Target audience
adolescent
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Furia, Yamile Saied Méndez
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (08 hr., 55 min., 21 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781649040114
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e306f15b-044f-4301-998e-7ad5e0fbdb8b
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1197980316
  • (OCoLC)on1197980316
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Furia, Yamile Saied Méndez
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (08 hr., 55 min., 21 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781649040114
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e306f15b-044f-4301-998e-7ad5e0fbdb8b
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1197980316
  • (OCoLC)on1197980316
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Manchester City LibraryBorrow it
      405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
      42.992271 -71.458785

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...