Coverart for item
The Resource Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel, A.J. Pearce

Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel, A.J. Pearce

Label
Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel
Title
Dear Mrs. Bird
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
A.J. Pearce
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful."--Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina. An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist--a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pearce, A. J.
Dewey number
823/.92
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PR6116.E675
LC item number
D33 2018
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Anna Popplewell
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1988-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Popplewell, Anna
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Advice columnists
  • Female friendship
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • London (England)
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel, A.J. Pearce
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 50 min., 58 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508255192
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
3ce31d32-84e1-4134-aa43-031a5fbc7404
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1043668304
  • (OCoLC)on1043668304
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel, A.J. Pearce
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 50 min., 58 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508255192
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
3ce31d32-84e1-4134-aa43-031a5fbc7404
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1043668304
  • (OCoLC)on1043668304
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Manchester City LibraryBorrow it
      405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
      42.992271 -71.458785

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...