Coverart for item
The Resource 12.21 : a novel, Dustin Thomason, (electronic resource)

12.21 : a novel, Dustin Thomason, (electronic resource)

Label
12.21 : a novel
Title
12.21
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Dustin Thomason
Title variation
Twelve twenty-one
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon?perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. ? For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. ? In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. ? By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life?s work and to one of history?s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. ? With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. ? Advance praise for 12.21 ?“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and?12.21?will be favorably compared to?The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is?very?scary but also?very?entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”?Nelson DeMille“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”?Vince Flynn“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”?Kirkus Reviews“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”?Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”?Publishers Weekly, from the Hardcover edition
Cataloging source
MnSpTMCL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Thomason, Dustin
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
cloudLibrary
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Mayas
  • Manuscripts
  • Prophecies
  • Communicable diseases
Label
12.21 : a novel, Dustin Thomason, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
  • 1 online resource
  • 336 p.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780679644286
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
eg7t89
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(MnSpTMCL)eg7t89
System details
  • Format: Adobe EPUB
  • Requires: cloudLibrary (file size: 3.0 MB)
Label
12.21 : a novel, Dustin Thomason, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
  • 1 online resource
  • 336 p.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780679644286
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
eg7t89
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(MnSpTMCL)eg7t89
System details
  • Format: Adobe EPUB
  • Requires: cloudLibrary (file size: 3.0 MB)

Library Locations

  • Main BranchBorrow it
    405 Pine St, Manchester, NH, 03104, US
    42.992271 -71.458785
  • West Manchester Branch LibraryBorrow it
    76 North Main St, Manchester, NH, 03102, US
    42.984974 -71.474229

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...